2016 Sylvester-Worth County Chamber Meet and Greet
EARLY Voting began May 2, 2016.
The Sylvester-Worth County Chamber of Commerce held a Meet and Greet for the Candidates in the upcoming primaries. It was well attended. The Worth County JROTC started the event with the Posting of the Colors. Ms. Jean Brooks, Chamber Director said the Invocation, Ms. Vontresia Hope sang the National Anthem and Mr. Issac Adams, Chamber Director, led the pledge. Ms. Karen Rackley, President/CEO then welcomed the candidates and guests. She thanked the Government Committee (listed below) of the Chamber for their hard work in putting the event together. Special thanks were given to Coca-Cola, Phoebe Worth and the Worth County Board of Commissioners. Then Chair of the Chamber Ms. Kim Gilman, Phoebe Worth Medical, introduced each of the participating candidates (listed below). Each of the candidates were allowed a one-minute introduction. After each of the candidates were recognized they then disbursed throughout the room to meet and greet their constituents. There were light refreshments served and Ms. Charlotte Jolley and her crew outdid themselves. Drinks were provided by Coca-Cola. Special thanks to George Rackley, Jay Crowe, William Crowe, Ralph Powell, BJ Williams, Tracy Jones and Sons for helping with breakdown and clean-up.
Candidates in attendance:
Ga State Representative 152nd District
Mary Egler
Ed Rynders – Incumbent
Ga State Senator
Greg Kirk – Incumbent
Ruenett Melton
US Congress 8th District
Angela Hicks
WC BOE District 2
Russell Beard
WC Clerk of Superior Court
Brenda Hicks
WC Board of Commission Chairman
Mike Cosby – Incumbent
Fred Dent
WC Board of Commissioner District 1
Joe Gaines – Incumbent
Tony Hall
WC Coroner
Boyd Brown
Johnny Johnson – Incumbent
Johnston Luke
WC Sheriff
Jeff Hobby – Incumbent
Tracy Jones
WC Solicitor General
R. David Bryan
Government Committee Members;
Chair – Becky Geer
Virginia Acord – WC Probate Judge
Michael Allen – Sylvester Housing Authority
Issac Adams – Men’s United
Melissa Brock – Advantage Realty
Jean Brooks
Gina Connell – WC Health Department
Lisa Dylinski – Worth County Family Connections
Christie Forrester – Worth County Board of Education
Kay Smith Mathews – WC School Superintendent
Shelly McPhaul – Best Friends Humane Society
Chris Shipp – Shipp Shape Lawn Service
Karen Rackley – President/CEO Sylvester-Worth County Chamber


Chamber Business Hours:
Monday through Friday
8:30am to 5:30pm
122 N Main Street
(229) 776–7718
Click Image for Interactive Magazine!

Click Image for Interactive Map!

Receive Our Weekly Newsletter!